Comedy Awards latest:

The winners of the 36th Edinburgh Comedy Awards were announced today at a ceremony at the Dovecot Studios, Edinburgh.
The Awards were presented by last year’s Best Comedy Show winner Sam Simmons and 2016 Best Newcomer, Sofie Hagen.

The nominees for Best Comedy Show are:
Al Porter: At Large
James Acaster: Reset
Kieran Hodgson: Maestro
Nish Kumar: Actions Speak Louder Than Words, Unless You Shout the Words Real Loud
Randy Writes A Novel
Richard Gadd: Monkey See Monkey Do
Tom Ballard: The World Keeps Happening
Zoe Coombs Marr: Trigger Warning

The Award for Best Comedy Show goes to
 Richard Gadd: Monkey See Monkey Do

The nominees for Best Newcomer are:
Bilal Zafar: Cakes
Brennan Reece: Everglow
Jayde Adams: 31
Michelle Wolf: So Brave
Nath Valvo: Happy Idiot
Scott Gibson: Life After Death
The Award for the Best Newcomer Prize goes to
 Scott Gibson: Life after Death

Nica Burns, director of the Edinburgh Comedy Awards said: A record- breaking year for Scotland with a double Scottish win as Best Comedy Show is won by Richard Gadd from Fife and Best Newcomer by Glaswegian Scott Gibson. Richard Gadd’s highly original, extraordinary show combines hilarity and heart and Scott Gibson is a brilliant stand-up who can make a near death experience funny. The first Scottish winners since Arnold Brown in 1987.
The Panel Prize goes to:
 Iraq Out & Loud: Reading the Chilcot Report in Full
An idea originated by comedian Boothby Graffoe and produced by Fringe personality Bob Slayer with his co-producer Sorcha Shanahan, involving many of the comedy community. Read at a table in a purpose built shed; the first readers were comedians Arthur Smith, Nish Kumar, Shappi Khorsandi and Mark Thomas. So many people wanted to take part that some had to be turned away. 6,000 pages, 2.6 million words, 24 hours a day, the reading ended on Saturday 20 August after 284 hours & 45minutes of continuous reading.
Nica Burns said: This was a big idea, of the moment and of huge importance involving a large part of the comedy community. It truly captured the spirit of all that can be possible at the Edinburgh Festival Fringe.
The Awards and prizes are:
· Best Comedy Show with a cash prize of £10,000
· Best Newcomer with a cash prize of £5,000
· Panel Prize with a cash prize of £5,000
The winners and nominees can be seen at the Edinburgh Comedy Awards Show on Sunday 28 August at 15.30 (17.00) at The Grand, Pleasance Courtyard.
The Fringe Comedy Awards Show will be at the Lyric Theatre, Shaftesbury Avenue, London on the 17, 24 & 31 October. Tickets exclusively available at

Press enquiries:
Anna Arthur at Arthur Leone PR
020 7836 7660 / 07973 264 373
Joanna Hawkins at Arthur Leone PR
020 7836 7660 / 07910 920207
Twitter: @comedyawards
Notes for Editors:
Over 650 comedy shows were eligible for the three awards and the judging panel and awards team attended over 1700 performances over the three weeks of the Festival.
The 2016 judging panel were:
Alice Jones, Arts Editor, I (Chair)
Sam Michell, BBC Comedy Editor
Laura Riseam, Assistant Editor, Comedy; Channel 4
Claire Smith, Reviewer and Feature Writer, The Scotsman
Dominic Maxwell, Theatre & Comedy Critic, The Times
Saskia Schuster, Commissioning Editor, ITV
Susan Provan, Melbourne International Comedy Festival
Niki Di Palma, Public Panel Competition Winner
Jim Johnson, Public Panel Competition Winner
Sam Haslam, Public Panel Competition Winner.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: